Six Buzzer Beaters You Won't Forget: Part One

Updated: October 13, 2017

Coming off their drought breaking Premiership, the Rabbitohs headed into the second Auckland Nines competition with a strong well-rounded squad, which found themselves pitted against against the 2014 wooden spooners, the Cronulla Sharks in the competition final.

Having easily dispatched the Knights and Eels in the finals series, the Rabbitohs were looking to cruise to victory, but would have to come up against the resilient Sharks, who were boasting a mix of youth and experience.

The Red and Greens would start off strongly with a try to Bryson Goodwin in the corner after just two minutes, but Cronulla would hit back a minute later with a long range try to Sosaia Feki. However, a failed conversion kick would keep the Rabbitohs two points ahead.

Backrower Chris Grevsmuhl would extend the lead in the final seconds of the first half, regaining the ball from a well-timed charge down, leaving the scores at 10-4 at the break.

The Sharks would push their way back into the game through a controversial drop out, which was regathered but didn’t look to go past the ten-metre line, allowing them to make their way downfield and score a try on the other wing thanks to rookies Jack Bird and Valentine Holmes.

Rabbitohs hooker Cam McInnes burrowed his way through the middle of the field to score a try of his own and give the side an 8-point buffer late in the second half, but another Sharks raid in the last minute saw Holmes and Bird combine once again, with the former converting a sideline conversion to send the game into extra time.   

After numerous tries being denied in extra time, with Issac Luke held up over the line and a pass to winger Joel Reddy being called forward, it was veteran Matt King, who had come out of retirement to participate in the preseason competition, who would score the winning try after some clever dummy half running from Luke caught the Sharks’ napping at marker.

It was the icing on the cake for the Rabbitohs, who had become the first team in history to win the premiership and then the Auckland Nines. 

Rabbitohs 26 – 24 Dragons, Round 22 2017, SCG


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *